How many of you beleive that cats are reincarnation of bad spirits??? How many of you consider the wild but domesticated creature as bad omen? Do you cancel your errands if a cat happens to cross your way? If your answer is a confused “yes”, then please explain to me the logic behind your belief……

Recently, while driving my car down an empty road, I hit a cat accidently. It was late in the night… so I thought it was better not to stop the car to see the poor creature’s plight. My cousin who was with me explained this incident to his old grand mother. She proclaimed that the cat we hit is a “rakshas”- a malyalam word for an evil spirit. And she asked him to be more careful….. because rakshas will avenge the cruelty eventhough it was an accident…….!!!!!

I was trying to guess the logic behind this….. I hate these superstitions which are quite irrational that bob up just because of fear and ignorance…… and people manipulate it according to their whims and fancies…… and makes these beliefs anomalous and extensively marked by incongruity!!!!!!

